Traditional Psalm Distribution for Prime


PRIME

Prime on Sundays

Antiphon: Alleluia.

Psalm 54 – B16

Psalm 118 – B17

Psalm 119 i & ii – B18-9

Antiphon: Alleluia, Alleluia, Alleluia.

Prime on Weekdays

All the same as on Sunday, except as otherwise given here:

MONDAY:

Antiphon throughout the year: Blessed are they that walk.

Antiphon in Lent: As I live.

Passiontide: Deliver me, O Lord.

Throughout the week Psalm 54 is here said but not 118.

Psalm 24 – B47-8

TUESDAY:

Psalm 25 – B70-1

WEDNESDAY:

Psalm 26 – B92

THURSDAY:

Psalm 23 – B116

FRIDAY

Psalm 22 – B139-40

SATURDAY

Psalm 118 is simply omitted and no other is substituted for it.

Antiphon throughout the year: Blessed are they that walk in Thy law, O Lord.

Antiphon in Lent: As I live saith the Lord, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that he turn from his way and live.

Passiontide: Deliver me, O Lord, and set me beside Thee: and any man’s hand may fight against me.

About Father Gregory

I am an Anglican Catholic Priest, currently residing in Orvelte, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

