The Psalm Distribution Series


I have taken it upon myself to provide the Psalms & Antiphons of the pre-1911 Breviary for use by Anglican Breviary devotees. This may take a while, especially since I just injured my hand two days ago and it seems it has become infected. The Anglican Breviary is not my 400px-Golzkast1only pass-time … I also dabble in bee-keeping and have just built (from scratch) a Goltz beehive (see picture). In the process of building this contraption I accidentally made an attempt to remove my left hand from my body. The attempt luckily failed but is in need of more attention than I have been giving it.

Once the series is finished I will turn the posts into pdf files so they can be downloaded. I will try and get them to fit nicely with the Anglican Breviary. You will notice that the Antiphons are sometimes quite different from the ones you may be used to from your use of the Anglican Breviary. this has two reasons: 1) the Pian reforms eliminated many traditional Antiphons, 2) Fr. Joseph – who is the hand behind the Anglican Breviary – regularly took liberties with regard to Antiphons, Responsories in translating them.

Fr. Gregory Wassen +

About Father Gregory

I am an Anglican Catholic Priest, currently residing in Orvelte, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Psalm Distribution Series

  1. Delighted to learn of your project! Wonder why Fr Joseph changed them….your source is–?
    Sorry for the “bee sting”. Fr Ron

    • Father Gregory says:

      Hi Father Ron! Thanks for the comment. My source for putting the changes at Fr. Joseph’s feet is that the AB is his “baby” and that sometimes the Antiphons of the AB differ from the Roman originals. I think this is what is referred to in the “Explanations and Acknowledgments” on p. viii as “deliberate variation.”

      Well thumb is badly bruised and my diabetes is making the wound on my hand heal slow. I’ll be ok in the end 😉

      • Father Gregory says:

        Also … the changes aren’t bad … sometimes they are improvements.

  2. Fr. James Thompson says:

    Thank you, Father. I have used the AB for many years, and am curious to know more about Father Joseph. Perhaps you have written of him elsewhere, or could simply give me a link. Many thanks. And may God heal your hand, indeed your whole body!

    • Father Gregory says:

      Dear Father, I am afraid I do not know much about Fr. Joseph. I have inquired at the Nashotah House (they informed me he had been involved with the Anglican Breviary – sigh – ) and I have contacted his old Franciscan Brotherhood but to no avail. Precious little is available about him. I have found some general information about him in an article published by the Franciscans and there is some info on Fr. Joseph in a book about the Franciscan revival in the Anglican Communion. I have found zero details about his struggles to translate the Anglican Breviary.

      Thank you for your visit here and for the healing wishes. My hand has almost entirely healed! For which I am thankful since I will be moving to the UK in about a month or so for work. 🙂

      Fr. Gregory

      • Fr. James Thompson says:

        Thank you, Father Gregory. I met Father Joseph when I was a young novice, and had the impression of an energetic (and talkative) man of venerable age. Perhaps another of those anonymous saints who have left us a step up. Blessings on your work. — jt

Leave a Reply

