Commemoration of a feria


Steve Christie asked the following question in a comment:

Father where do you find the commemration of the feria in the AB.

That is an excellent question, and I apologize for not having addressed it appropriately before. So for the benefit of all that read this blog:

Dear Steve,

For commemoration of a feria, you will need the Antiphon from the Proper of the Season (C274) and the versicles for Passiontide (Ordinary p. A23 & A42). For Lauds that would have been:

The Master saith, My time is at hand: * I will keep the Passover at thy house with my disciples.

Deliver me from mine enemies, O God.
Defend me, O Lord, from them that rise up against me.

Major clergy now say:

Let us pray,

For those not at least in Deacon’s Orders say:

Lord hear my prayer.
And let my cry come unto thee.

[see AB p. A7 concerning Closing Versicles]

Grant we beseech thee, Almighty God: that we, which by our innocence have corrupted the worthiness of man’s condition, may by devout abstinence heal and restore the same. Through …

And the same process (not the same Antiphon, Versicles, and Collect) is used for Vespers. The Antiphon, Versicles and Collect are found in the Ordinary for Passiontide and the Proper for the Season.

Fr. Gregory +

About Father Gregory

I am an Anglican Catholic Priest, currently residing in Orvelte, the Netherlands.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

